Meet The E-Board Series: Scout Sparks, Vice President of Social Affairs

Hi everyone!

My name is Scout Sparks and I am the VP of Social Affairs for Ferris State’s PRSSA chapter. I am a junior majoring in the Human Resources Management program and I’m minoring in Public Relations and Spanish. This is my first year on our executive board and I’m so excited and eager for what this year has to bring! But first… Here’s a little bit about me!

11759656_1067975559881649_744961616_n

I’m from Fowlerville, Michigan, a small town about thirty minutes east of Lansing. I have the BEST parents EVER (yes Mom, I know you’re reading this) a brother, sister, and two step brothers. I played tennis throughout high school and spent most of my time with family, friends and my horses. I made the decision to attend Ferris State when I was a junior in high school. My older brother goes to Ferris as well… I’d like to think he was excited when I told him I was following him to college too, but I’m not so sure he was!

My first week as a freshman was tough. The hardest part was leaving behind my family and diving into college life. As a freshman I struggled with taking advantage of every opportunity presented in front of me. I made a few friends but mostly kept to myself, focused on my schoolwork and went home Every. Single. Weekend. of my freshman year. Little did I know how much I was missing out on! I was involved with PRSSA, and that was where I made all of my friends. PRSSA was where I began to grow into the person I am today.

As a sophomore, I chose to force myself to stay on campus more, talk to different people, stay on the weekends, and most importantly become more active as a member of PRSSA. Once these simple changes were implemented I noticed a change in myself. Today, I am able to talk confidently with others, I seek opportunities to grow as an individual and best of all, I have learned how to enjoy my time as a student at Ferris State University.

This year I hope to help the nervous and ambivalent new members, that I once was. My biggest goal is to make every new member of PRSSA feel as welcomed as I felt at my first meeting, just two short years ago.

Now for some fun facts!

  • I love Salt and Vinegar chips
  • I love Bob Seger
  • Everyone calls me Scooter, Scoot, Scoots (“shrugging” emoji)
  • I have Addison’s disease
  • I like reality TV
  • When I get stressed out, I go on a drive (I know that’s like a weird mom thing but it works, I swear) LOL
About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

