Senior Blog Series: Carman Plank

By: Carman Plank

10 days. 10 days is all that is left of my college career. There is only 10 days before I walk gracefully (who am I kidding? I’ll probably trip) across that stage. And as these days have begun to dwindle down, I have realized just how hard it is going to be for me to say goodbye to this school, everything I have been involved in, and of course the plenty of people I have met.

As I go to close this chapter of my life, I must remember that with every goodbye comes lessons that have been learned along the way. Here are a few that I have learned:

College is a place to recreate yourself.

In high school, I had an amazing group of friends. However, outside of that group of friends, I was known as the “smart girl.” That’s all that most of my 2,000 student high school knew about me. They didn’t know my personality. They didn’t know my heart and soul. They only knew that I was good at taking tests and I got good grades. I wanted to change that when I got to college. I wanted to be known for the entire person that I am. Remember, that college is the place where you can recreate yourself. It’s the place where you can truly become a better person and show a new set of people what you are made of. Don’t lose your true self in the process, but you are able to create yourself.

 GET INVOLVED.

Anyone that knows me is aware that the one piece of advice that I always give people when they are freshmen is to GET INVOLVED. There is nothing that will teach you more in college than the experiences outside of the classroom, and inside of your organizations. Find something you are passionate about and run with it. It will help you in the long run.

College brings you lifetime friends.

You are here for four years. It’s inevitable that heartbreak, loss and struggle will ensue at some point. When it does, lean on those friends that you have built that bond with. The ones that will be there, no matter what. College will inevitably bring people into your life that will be around for you when it seems like the whole world is crashing down. Don’t let those people go.

Don’t take classes so seriously.

So before anyone gets any misconceptions about this one, I am not telling you to not try hard in your classes. I am simply saying that college isn’t all about classes. Through my four years, I have leaned just as much, if not more, from my experiences outside of the classroom as I have from the ones inside of it. Your life is not defined by what kind of grades you receive. And yes, if you are struggling in a class and having multiple mental breakdowns for it, it is okay: Cs really do get degrees.

I could go on for days about everything that I have learned these past four years at Ferris, but I don’t want to bore you. When I came here as a timid little freshman four years ago, I couldn’t imagine the sassy, strong person that I have become. I can’t thank my organizations, especially PRSSA, for everything that they have given me. Just know that Ferris will forever remain in your blood, as it will remain in mine. Ferris will always be home to me, because: Once a Bulldog. Always a Bulldog.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

