Senior Blog Series: Ashley Bradstreet

By: Ashley Bradstreet

August 27, 2012 was not only my first experience with PRSSA, but also the day I was reassured coming to Ferris was the right decision.

Ashley

As I near the end of my third year of college, it’s hard to believe I only have one semester before it’s all over.   Initially, I wrote about some of my (self-proclaimed) profound and unique experiences.  However, my fellow PR seniors are sharing such thoughtful and insightful tips for our younger peers; I realized they say it way better than I can so instead I’m going to write:

The 19 things that go through your mind when trying to write about your college experience

-I’m going to sign up for the latest possible publishing date

-But I said I wasn’t going to procrastinate this semester

-Whatever, I’m busy this week

-I should read everyone else’s blog. It’s research, not cheating

-Gosh, why is everyone so good at writing?

-What happened to that blog I wrote in PREL341? (eww 341)

-Wow, that blog was terribly cliché and had so many passive sentences

– Maybe someone will switch publishing dates with me so I can just write it this weekend

-I should work in a paradigm shift. Wuddup PREL440

-(Google Search) How to write a blog?

-I don’t have a single creative bone in my body

-Initiate incubation

– I’ve been in the IRC for 3 hours and gotten nothing done.

-The Starbucks guy is handing out free samples, but he’s not looking at me.

-I could totally write a blog about how much I’ll miss chillin’ in the IRC

-Graduation is kind of sad

-Wait, why are I acting like I’m graduating?

-I’m not even a senior.

-Can I push my senior blog to December?

Unlike this blog, I took my time at Ferris rather seriously and looking back there are two, somewhat contradictory, pieces of advice I’d give:

  1. Work hard
  2. Don’t spend all weekend in FLITE.

Seek out opportunities and step out of your comfort zone, but keep it in perceptive and enjoy the moments you have. Sometimes, it feels like you have little control over what you have to do.  Thankfully, your work ethic and attitude is completely yours to determine.  Despite the importance of success and excellence, it’s critical to remember never take life or yourself too seriously.

sh

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

