Senior Blog Series: Shelby Austin

By: Shelby Austin

I’m sitting at Biggby putting the final touches on my capstone campaign, writing my senior blog, preparing for my final PR presentation, and researching jobs. Where has the time gone?

Three short years ago, I started my college career as a music industry management major. Although I am thankful for the lifelong friends and experiences that MIM provided me with, I am also incredibly happy I discovered public relations through Dr. Bishop’s intro to PR course.

Unfortunately, my time in PRSSA was too short. Three semesters was not nearly enough time to spend with this incredible group of talented individuals.

The past year in PRSSA has been a year I will never forget. I had the opportunity to serve with five incredible girls on the executive board as Vice President of Internal Relations, organize several PRSSA “firsts,” and oversee an extremely hard working internal relations team.

It’s hard to believe that I have my final PR presentation on Wednesday and that I am attending senior send off as a senior next Thursday. It’s even harder to believe that in less than a month, I will walk across the stage to get my diploma with the other PR seniors that have become family in such a short time.

The thought of leaving Big Rapids makes me happier than one could imagine, but the thought of leaving my PRSSA family makes my heart heavy. I am eager to start the next chapter of my life, but I will miss hanging out in IRC 107 every Thursday, especially on ThurZadays.

Current PR students don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. At times, the program will push you to your limits but never underestimate yourself. Also, try not stress yourself out too much. Find the balance between being a Kyle Bergman and a Tarah Bourke.

I look forward to attending the PRSSA National Conference in Atlanta with the chapter in November. The future of PRSSA is bright and I am eager to serve as a mentor to members and watch the chapter grow.

With that being said, shout out to Dr. Bishop, my fellow PR seniors, and coffee for helping me reach my full potential in PR!

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Senior Blog Series: Shelby Austin

  1. Pamela austin says:

    We are so proud of you. Congrats on your new adventures

Leave a Reply

