Senior Blog Series: Kaitlyn Baase

kaitlynLately, I feel like every senior in the entire world has been super nostalgic talking about his or her experiences in college. So far, college has been the best experience of my life, and I want to make sure I remember it as that, not as me being sad because I’m about to leave. If you know me, you know that I like to (try) and be funny. So I tried to compile a list of super funny, yet really random thoughts I have had about college. I’m sure that the majority of #PRpeeps at Ferris have thought the same things 😉

  1. Am I really moving two hours away from home where I don’t know a single soul?!

Yes, Kaitlyn. You really are going to move that far away and know no one. It’s really scary (especially when you get to campus and find out you don’t have a roommate anymore), but you will survive. Just open your door in your dorm room and go to events. Life will be fine.

  1. What even is PR?

Did you know I picked my major out of a book? I had no idea what public relations was when I started college. But from the looks of it, it seems like I get to make blogs and paper airplanes in class, so I’ll stick with it. NOTE: I realize now that PR is way more than making paper airplanes in PREL 101, but that wouldn’t make a funny story, would it?

  1. You wish you had my PR buddy

My PR buddy I had freshman year was the best. She took me under her wing and made sure that I was adjusting comfortably to life at Ferris. I mean, the girl took me to Zumba every Tuesday and Thursday my freshman year and has talked me through EVERY SINGLE important life event, how much better can PR buddies get?! So shout out to Samantha Bankey: Thanks for making me the fearless human being I am today.

  1. I like PRSSA. I should get more involved

Getting involved in PRSSA was the best decision I’ve made throughout college. I love everything about PRSSA, from the meetings every Thursday to hanging out with my #PRpeeps. Thank you all for letting me talk for hours about PRSSA and putting up with my craziness during meetings!

  1. PREL 341: What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger

That class almost killed me. But I (barely) survived and learned so much about public relations. An hour ago, I just cranked out a press release for work in under 20 minutes. Thanks, PREL 341, for that one!

  1. Living in BR for a summer is the best thing I’ve ever done

I spent my last summer of college staying in Big Rapids and I highly recommend it to everyone. I got to ride my bike all over town, go tubing every weekend, and experience the pure beauty of Big Rapids when it is not overly infested with college students.

  1. Senior Year is kind of scary

It’s pretty horrifying when all of a sudden you are writing your senior blog for PRSSA, have your campaign due for PREL 455 in less than 24 hours, and are in the process of training someone to take over your position as PRSSA President. Where did the time go?! Why can’t I graduate NEXT year?!

  1. Finding a job is really scary

The moment where you realize you have to apply for a REAL job is kind of horrifying. It’s a weird feeling to realize that you will no longer spend your days at school, but working at a job. Trying to figure out where to begin can be extremely overwhelming. At the end of the day, I realized that you just have to breathe, remember that everything happens for a reason and never give up on the job hunt, no matter how stressful it may be.

  1. I’m graduating in three weeks. WHAT?!

This is the best/worst feeling in the entire world. I am so excited to graduate and see where my future is going to take me, but I am dreading the day I have to say goodbye to all of my friends, peers and classmates at Ferris State University. It seems like just yesterday my parents dropped me off at Vandercook Hall, and now I’m preparing to walk across the stage.

On an ending note, I have loved everything about my time at Ferris State University. Thank you to everyone for making these past four years the best time of my life! You are the reason the sun shines in my life.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Senior Blog Series: Kaitlyn Baase

  1. Sharon Brown says:

    Hi Katie,
    As your grandma and one of the people in this world who loves you sooooo much, I want to thank all your friends and classmates and helpmates who helped you get to where you are today. You are a wonderful girl, all the good rolled into one and I know it is your family, friends and schoolmates who have made you who you are today. I wish all grandparents could say the same and feel the same as I do for you. It can’t be put into words how much I love you. CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR FIRST COLLEGE GRADUATE GRADUATE GRANDCHILD. You are going to be such a great asset to your new bosses.

    Love you, grandma

Leave a Reply

