Senior Blog Series: Life Lessons I Learned Along The Way

By: Tarah Bourke

Tarah

Graduation is just around the corner and I could not be more excited for the next stage of my life. I do have to admit, though, I will miss my time at Ferris. This school has given me a lot- an excellent education, experience that has taught me even more beyond the classroom, mentors to guide me along the way, friends that have stolen my heart and memories that will last a lifetime. I’m sorry, I know it sounds cheesy, but I have truly loved my four years at Ferris.

I have learned a lot of life lessons along the way. All I can say to you younger PRSSA members is take advantage of what the seniors have to say. Learn from our mistakes and maybe what we managed to do right in our time here. You only have four years at Ferris State. Make sure they’re good ones.

Know when to relax.

This was something that I’m not sure I ever really mastered in college. I’m a nerd that really likes to be involved. All I have to say to you other nerds out there is that if you put in the hard work you will reap the rewards later. But, make sure you’re taking time out of your life to have a little fun too. You only get four years in college and you don’t want to only remember how stressed out you were.

Study abroad.

If I could go back, I would have studied abroad for an entire summer and not just four weeks. But even in that short amount of time, I cannot begin to tell you how much I grew as an individual. I learned to be independent, self-sufficient, appreciative of other cultures and see the world on a much larger scale. I know most people can’t afford it. Don’t worry, I couldn’t either- I used student loans. But, find a way and go experience what the rest of the world has to offer outside of Big Rapids.

Take advantage of every opportunity.

I have taken advantage of almost every opportunity that has come my way since starting at Ferris State as a freshman. Each and every experience, whether it was getting involved with an organization, taking on a new job or putting in the hours at an unpaid internship has given me invaluable life lessons and experience that I could not have attained in the classroom. Always consider what comes your way – you never know where those opportunities may lead you.

Find your passion.

Seizing opportunities leads me to my next point. Find whatever it is that you’re passionate about, and make it your career. If you don’t love what you do, then you’re not living. If you don’t know what it is you’re passionate about, then start taking advantage of every opportunity. I never dreamed that I would be going into nonprofit PR, but after my internship with Kids’ Food Basket I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else. I want to make a difference in someone’s life. That’s something that I’m passionate about. Now, go find yours.

Trust the journey.

If you’re close with me you know this is my life mantra. But it took me a long time to get here. We all want answers and we all want a plan. The unknown is scary. Graduation is scary. But, somewhere along the way you have to learn to trust that everything is going to work out and fall into place. Has it ever not before? So, if you don’t know what life has planned for you, that’s alright. Just trust the journey.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

