Client Spotlight – Hospitality Management Blog

Each semester, Public Relations Student Society of America takes on various clients within their student-run PR firm. Some of these clients include registered student organizations, local businesses and various campus events. The client that we are spotlighting this week is the Hospitality Management Gala.

By: Jordan House

Well for starters, unless you’re in the hospitality program, you highly underestimate the amount of stress you can be under as a human being. Once you’ve been a part of the Hospitality Management Gala team you learn a whole new meaning to stress and time management. I’ve never seen a group of people come together and start with so little, and allow it to blossom into something so massive and spectacular.

Backing up now, I’m Jordan House, a junior in the Public Relations program, and the current Public Relations Manager for the Hospitality Management Gala. I was blessed to be appointed to this position through my program’s RSO, PRSSA. I’ve since learned the meaning of working under a time crunch, and it’s possibly one of the most rewarding feelings ever when everything is fully accomplished.

Thus far, my team and myself have written over 20 press releases, distributed them to different cities around Michigan, radio stations in Big Rapids and Grand Rapids, and conducted a radio interview where I was featured on the radio! All these tasks are things that I could never have done without getting out of my comfort zone and using my PR knowledge while on the Gala team.

At the actual event, everything we accomplished came together and worked out fantastically. The meal was incredible, with a professional Steampunk Executive Chef creating most of the items, and other Executive Chefs dishing up the appetizers, hors d’oeuvres, and dessert items. Several awards were given out to students, faculty, advisors, and community members; speeches and thank you’s were given, and auction items were sold without a hitch.

All in all, Gala was an experience that has changed me for the better. I got to know an amazing team of people and watch them accomplish extraordinary things, and I was able to temporarily become one of them! If you are ever given the chance to join the Gala team, or anything like it, the task is not easy, but it comes highly recommended by me. Now my time has come and I am retired from my position at the ripe old age of 20, I’ve become a wise old woman. So take my advice, get out of your comfort zone; try applying yourself to something completely terrifying, and you might just see how awesome it can actually be!

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

