Senior Farewells: Amy Hughes’ Story

Three years ago I was faced with a decision that I knew would have a large impact on my future.

It was the summer of 2011 and I had just completed my second year of college. I came out of high school undecided about what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, and hoped to discover my passion while at Ferris State University. During my first year I spent time enjoying the freedom and going on adventures with my roommates and new friends, and not a lot of time thinking about my future career.

After completing my general education requirements, I made the tough choice to leave Ferris. I went home for the Spring semester where I took one class at a community college and went back to my serving job.


I made it my goal to figure out what I wanted to do and get back to Ferris. While researching, I came across the Public Relations program and realized that it encompassed a little bit of everything that I enjoyed. It also allows for graduates to be qualified for many different careers. I sent a message to Dr. Bishop, and he quickly responded with a friendly
message inviting me to join the #PRPeeps at the PRBQ before classes started. The PRBQ was a blast and became something that I looked forward to each year.

10306952_10153998380335234_1611768888_nThe PR classes were very different than any other classes that I had taken. We did countless ice-breakers and class activities to help us get to know each other. They also helped us get to know ourselves better

As to be expected, the assignments became more difficult and expectations became higher as time went on. I was often forced out of my comfort zone, and sometimes it was terrifying. However, I trusted in Dr. Bishop and appreciated his efforts to get us to be the best version of ourselves. I have completed many assignments and presentations that I wasn’t even sure were possible.

What I wasn’t expecting to gain is the amazing friendships with my fellow #PRPeeps. These are people that I hope to have in my life forever. We have grown together, learned together, and went through difficult times together. Whether we need someone to vent to, get support from, get advice from, or just go have a good time with, we know we have each other. I have been blessed to be part of this #PRPeeps family!

I would like to thank everyone that has been part of my life throughout my college experience. For those of you who are not yet graduating, don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone! Believe in yourself, you are capable of doing more than you think. Always remember that we are a family and never hesitate to reach out to each other for whatever it is that you may need. As for the rest of the seniors, we have almost done it! I couldn’t have picked a better group of people to go through this experience with. I know that you will all go on to do great things and find success, I can’t wait to hear all about it! #PRPeeps forever!

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

