Senior Farewell: AJ’s Story

Saying goodbye to PRSSA is probably one of the toughest parts of my senior year.

 When I left the graphic design program at Ferris, I was lost and had no idea what else I could possibly do with my life. Looking back, I’m impressed to think about what I could have chosen to do instead. I could have gone to Kendall and continued to pursue a bachelor degree in graphic design. I could have gone back to the East side of the state and studied information technology or web development.Image

Instead I took a look at the public relations program at Ferris and discovered a gem so valuable I couldn’t believe it. With a program so unique no other program in the nation can compare to it and the opportunity to utilize my design skills in a unique and exciting way, I jumped head-first into PR my first semester. I immediately volunteered to fill the position of treasurer in PRSSA and did everything I could to help my fellow classmates and PR peeps anyway I could.  Since then I’ve grown as a leader and this past year I had the honor of being the president of PRSSA. I couldn’t be more grateful for such an incredible opportunity.

From the PR program I made friends and connections that I am looking forward to keeping in touch with over the course of my professional life.  My lessons and experiences I have had during my time at Ferris have prepared me for what I think will be a very successful business career.

With all that being said, I’m going to miss showing up in IRC 107 every Thursday to be part of a proactive, forward-thinking group of individuals whose futures are incredibly bright. You will all be in my thoughts and if you ever need to reach out for advice from someone, I am always willing to listen and do what I can.

I’m so glad I met you all. I hope to see you in a business meeting sometime in the future.

A.J.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

