My Internship at The Temple Theatre

By: Kaitlyn Baase

Summer vacation is supposed to be a time to relax and do absolutely nothing, right? Well, that’s not exactly the case when you are interning! 🙂 My summer has been pretty crazy and hectic, but I love every second of it. I’ve been having an interesting time learning how to balance my time between my summer job at a movie theatre, volunteering with my old high school cheerleading team, and my internship.

photo-1

I’m currently a public relations intern over at the Temple Theatre in Saginaw, MI. When I was growing up, I remember having my first ever dance recital there; I even made my first best friend there! (I know, what a tear-jerker!) Anyways, since my first recital there about 15 years ago, the theatre has been completely renovated to become what is known as “the mini Fox Theatre.” This place is literally one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, and I am fortunate enough to work here! (Fun fact: its rumored to have one of the most beautiful bathrooms in the state!) Some other cool features about the theatre is that there is a beautiful ballroom, known for hosting extravagant wedding receptions and a premier room, which can be used for any type of party, or even a wedding ceremony. My favorite room there is the Leopard Lounge, and the name really fits. And of course, the theatre is absolutely breathtaking. Literally every time I walk in there, I forget to breathe for a second.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s a brief run through of what I’ve been doing here. Though it’s technically a “dead season” over here at the theatre, I’ve been extremely busy working on projects. I’ve been spending a lot of my summer so far working on our upcoming symphony and choral seasons, which has mainly involved renewing season subscriptions. I’ve also been busy helping get together some sponsor lists for the season. My most recent project has been doing some promoting for our upcoming comedian, Dave Coulier. (Yes that’s right, he’s also known as Joey Gladstone from Full House!) I’ve been busy driving all over the tri-city area handing out posters to local businesses to help get the word out. Hopefully I’ll get to meet Coulier. How cool would that be?!

My big project I’ve been working on is creating a PR plan for the theatre’s upcoming season. We’re looking at bringing in some pretty big names (I can’t tell you who yet though, we’re still finalizing!) Once the season is finalized, I can really get to work on writing press releases for them, along with promotions and other fun things.

Image

In case you were wondering how adorable I was at my first recital at the Temple. Cute, right?! 🙂

I’m learning a ton about non-profit PR and realizing that all those business classes I thought I would never use are becoming incredibly helpful. I am learning so much about tough decisions that have to be made when running a business, as well as a lot about myself and what I am truly interested in. I never imagined I would learn so much from a place that 15 years ago, put me up on stage wearing a poofy pink tutu and let me dance my little heart out.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

