A Final Farewell

By: Avery Larson

It is that time of the year…graduation time. This time, I’m the one graduating.

Image

I first came to Ferris wanting to be an Optometrist. When I took my first college biology class, I knew from the get go it wasn’t for me, and I quickly realized I was too punctual to be sitting in a room all day looking at eyes.

Second semester my freshman year, I switched majors to Public Relations and I haven’t looked back. I am so thankful for the opportunity to have met such an outstanding group of individuals, amongst them, Dr. B.

Image

I wouldn’t be where I am today without the encouragement, push, and drive my fellow PR peeps gave me. From 8 am press release writing, to late night PowerPoint crams and feeding off one another’s ideas for a group “interaction” presentations, I can’t picture myself being in another program here at Ferris State. The students I’ve met along the way literally “Do what they love, and love what they do.”

To my graduating senior class, you guys ALL rocked your campaigns, even though I wasn’t able to see a few. Thank you for the laughs, hardships, and shared stories over Starbucks. I am going to miss you all.

Image

I am so proud to be part of a program that sent a student to the National PRWeek Student of the Year in New York City, and had over half the class with jobs after graduation on the first day of senior year.

We truly are a group “Built on Character, Driven by Business.” Thank you again for the PR experience and best of luck to the graduating seniors and future graduates of Ferris State PR.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

