Meet Dr. Bishop

Dr. B. PR Dog. Bishop. Just a couple of his many names. Take a moment to learn about our adviser, Dr. Bishop. Learn a little about why he loves PR and why he loves PRSSA!

Image-Where did you go to school and what did you study?

I started at Jackson Community College in pre-engineering (what what?!), then I earned my bachelors in communication from Michigan State University (in an age before PR was offered as a degree!). In the early-2000s (my mid-30s), I finally figured out what I wanted to be when I grew up, so…. I went back to school and gained my masters in communication from GVSU and my doctorate in leadership studies from WMU. In 2005, I became Accredited in Public Relations (APR) and I’m working toward full-certification in the Enneagram (a personality-leadership system).

– Why did you choose to go into public relations?

Engineering was yucky. I’ve always loved creative communications, whether doing graphic design, writing, photography, public speaking, or creating an event. Plus, every day is different. PR gave me an opportunity to connect with people in a wide variety of tasks, industries and topics.

-What job experience do you have with PR?

My career started as a graphic designer and writer, then quickly moved into event planning, community relations, consumer relations, and employee relations. I spent nine years in retail, two in manufacturing, five in non-profit, and I’m in my seventh year at Ferris. My career has been quite diverse; in addition to graphic design, I’ve been an event planner, purchasing agent, vice president of sales & marketing, and community relations officer. In the future, I hope to add to my professor role by authoring a few books and doing more public speaking in the area of leadership (with ties to the Enneagram).

-What is your favorite part about teaching PR?

Seeing a student’s “ah-ha!” moment when they have a serious shift in mindset or understanding. I LOVE engaging with interested, upbeat students who want to learn, grow, and better themselves. There’s a shift that happens to most students when they “get it” and start becoming young professionals; I love being part of that process.

-What is your favorite thing about PRSSA?

The wonderfully positive, engaged, talented, smart, funny, creative, upbeat, can-do, make it happen, professional students! They always impress me and brighten my day.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

