Meet Our New President: A.J. Petix!

Congratulations to A.J. Petix for being named president of PRSSA for the 2013-14 school year! We know you will do great things for our chapter. Here’s a little more info on our future president.

Image

Why did you choose PR as a career path?
I wanted to continue tapping into my graphic design skills while incorporating event planning, leadership, writing and planning.

Have you had any internships?
I’ve done the Disney College Program in spring of 2012 and when I came back home from it I immediately began a summer internship with the Palace of Auburn Hills, home of the Detroit Pistons.

What is your dream PR job?
I’ve done a lot of soul-searching on this one over the years and I’ve changed my opinion a few times. I wouldn’t be surprised if it changed again. Originally I thought corporate PR with an automotive or computer company would be my best fit. In recent months I discovered how much more human an agency community is compared to corporate. As of right now I’d love to be a top manager in a PR agency, but I’ve entertained the thought of being a PR manager at Apple or Google.

What were your previous roles in PRSSA?
Since joining PRSSA in fall of 2011, I’ve been treasurer and had plenty of time to perfect the role. I’ve worked with two eboards and helped maintain both budgets. Throughout that time I watched the executive board’s decisions and educated myself on their decisions and reasoning.

Why did you decide to run for president?
There are a couple reasons. First of all, I want to have the name of “president” on my résumé. It’s a heavy name to carry and I like that. Second, I want to further my leadership skills. I’ve loved being treasurer, but to lead the entire organization and help direct us down a successful path is a much better leadership experience. Finally, I’ve seen the success and the drive this organization has, and I want to help push it to its limits and then raise those limits.

What are some ideas you have for PRSSA next year?
I have a few ideas to make the executive board more efficient and better communicators, including itineraries where there used to be open forums in our eboard meetings. I want to try and improve the quality of our events such as festivus and senior send-off through better fundraisers and better planning. The most exciting prospect for this coming year, though, is the transition from free clients to paid-only clients in our client relations team. These raised funds are for a new plan in the coming years from Dr. Bishop to create a PRSSA scholarship.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

