Student Spotlight: Betsy Garbe

This week’s student spotlight is on Betsy Garbe a sophomore in the PR program from Allegan, MI.

image

Why and how did you choose a PR career path?

I started in the Journalism program here at Ferris and realized that I wanted a job that would incorporate my love for writing with the business world. I explored the possibility of going into advertising, but was urged to take a Public Relations class as well. I absolutely fell in love and knew that PR was the right field for me.

What internships or experiences have you had so far? And if you haven’t had any what types of internships would you like to look into?

I had a wonderful opportunity to job shadow a couple of amazing PR professionals in the Grand Rapids area. First, I shadowed Jill Wallace from Goodwill Industries of Greater Grand Rapids. I got to experience what a day is like for someone who works at a not for profit. I was lucky enough to go on the set of Wood TV 8 and watch her do a segment about the company. For my second job shadow I went to mLive in downtown Grand Rapids and got see the media side of Public Relations. They both were wonderful opportunities and I gained knowledge that I will take with me in my future careers.

What is your favorite thing about PRSSA?

My favorite thing about PRSSA is the connections you build with fellow classmates. I have grown so much and learned so much more than I would have if I had not joined PRSSA. I love the fact that we are all like a family and I know that I will be friends with some of these people for the rest of my life.

What is your dream job?

My dream job would be working for a company like mLive. When I shadowed Tim Baumgardner it was one of the most exhilarating and beneficial experiences I have had thus far in Public Relations. I would love to write articles, keep up on social media, and help plan events for a company.

Other than PRSSA, what other organizations or activities are you involved in on campus?

Not only am I a full-time student at Ferris, but I am also employed through dining services on campus. This has recently opened the door for me to do PR for ferris dining services. I am currently working with a fellow co-worker to head up the PR and advertising for an upcoming charity event that dining services is hosting. It has been a great way for me to get some experience working for a real client.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

