Student Spotlight: Christie Bender

This weeks student spotlight is on Christie Bender, a senior in the PR program.

Christie

Where are you from? Newaygo, MI

Why did you choose a PR Career path? I didn’t want to be pre-med anymore and found an opportunity for an internship in Arizona on a Corporate Communications team at LifeLock. I was very interested, decided to give it a shot, and changed my major. I absolutely loved working out there and it solidified my choice in PR.

What internships or experiences have you had so far? I interned at LifeLock in Tempe, AZ for three months. I also job shadowed Pure Michigan and the Grand Rapids Public Museum. I will be interning at Kate Bowe PR in Dublin, Ireland this fall August-December.

What do you want to do with career and where would you like to end up? First and foremost I want to travel. I am using PR to get me to Europe this fall. I am hoping to maybe get a full time position there. I have had a PR agency in London ask me to send my resume this fall when I am ready to talk to them about a job. I am very interested in arts and entertainment PR and am glad that my internship is in this.

Other than Ferris State PR, what other Ferris activities are you involved in? I am also in the Honors College where I take part in many cultural events and volunteering.

What position do you hold in PRSSA? I am currently the Vice President of Internal Relations and Secretary of PRSSA. In this, I manage a 15 person team who work on social events, fundraising, and agency tours.

What is your favorite thing about Bishops classes? I love how we are family. Everyone is comfortable around one another and its not like any other classes we have to take. Bishop pushes our comfort zones, but ultimately we all have fun.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

