Student Spotlight: Tarah Bourke

By: Samantha Bankey

This week’s student spotlight is with Tarah Bourke, a sophomore in our program. 

 Where are you from? 
I am from Newaygo, MI.
 
Why did you choose PR, especially Ferris State PR?
I chose PR because I wanted to be able to represent an athletic apparel company, or some sort of running shoe company. I have always loved to run, and wanted to carry it into my professional life. I always felt that I was a people person and this major seemed to fit. I chose Ferris purely based on the scholarships they were able to give me. It was after I took PR 101 when I found out that Ferris had one of the best public relations programs in the nation. I’m glad it worked out!
 
What kind of internships or PR-related experiences have you had so far?
I have not interned as of right now, but I am currently involved in client relations with PRSSA. I work on the Colleges Against Cancer account, and took on Running Club’s Monster Dash 5k earlier this fall. I hope to continue to work with Client Relations. My dream internship will either be for Saucony or Under Armour. I am currently trying to get into contact with the representative for Under Armour. I also want to do a journalism internship since my concentration will be in journalism. There are study away programs over in England that I would love to pursue someday.
 
What is your favorite thing about Ferris State PR or PRSSA?
I love all of the opportunities PRSSA provides us with. We are able to network right at our meetings with guest speakers, and it opens our eyes to the different types of jobs we are able to pursue. I also like that I am able to pick a concentration under my public relations degree. I am getting the best of both of the degrees that I wanted.
Where would you like to end up in your PR career? What are your goals?
I would love to work for Saucony or Under Armour. Basically putting on events, helping promote their company, products, and community involvement. I would also love to write feature stories for specific running magazines such as Runner’s World, or Running Times. My dream would be able to interview sport legends and write their story.
About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

