Student Spotlight: Matt Main

Our student spotlight is on Matt Main, a junior in the public relations program.

1. Where are you from?
Big Rapids, MI

2. Why did you choose a PR career path (after the 8 majors you didn’t like…..)?

I chose PR over Pharmacy, the CARE Program (undecided), General Business, Accounting, Optometry, and Marketing……I am blanking on the 8th. I did so because I am able to utilize my spelling, grammar, and writing skills. I like that in PR my day is never going to be quite the same as the last. Whereas many of my previous majors would become monotonous.

3. What internships or experiences have you had so far?
I haven’t had an internship experience yet, but I have attended many agency tours PRSSA has hosted and have an idea of where I’d like to apply for internships!

4. What do you want to do with career and where would you like to end up?
I would love to do special event planning or community relations events with a professional sports organization. My ideal location to end up in is Toronto, Ontario, CA working for the Blue Jays (though I will always be a Tigers fan).

5. Other than Ferris State PR, what other Ferris activities are you involved in?

I am involved in intramural sports and I am looking to get into a few more RSOs once my schedule clears up!

6. What position do you hold in PRSSA?

I am the Vice President of Internal Relations, so I plan Festivus, which is our annual Christmas party, the PRBQ at the beginning of the year to meet everyone, I also plan mixers for our members to attend, and Senior Sendoff, which happens at the end of the year around April.

7. What is your favorite thing about Bishop’s classes?

There are two things that I love about Dr. B’s classes. The first, being how hard he pushes you to strive for your very best beyond what you thought your limits were. And second, placing students in pods during class time, which allows for you to become less nervous when meeting new people.

About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

