Internship Story: Jared Kissane

Where did you intern?
I interned at Truscott Rossman. It’s a Strategic communications firm based in Lansing.
 
 How did you find your internship?
My friend from high school’s mom is the CEO of the company that’s how I got the internship.
 
 Describe your typical day as a PR intern.
There is never a typical day as a PR intern. Everyday brought forward a new and exciting challenge. I would do everything from writing 1st drafts of account executives to attending press conferences.
 
What was the best part of your internship?
The best part of my internship was being able to work with two of the most experienced and successful PR professionals in the state and seeing how they worked and what it took to be successful in the world of PR. And everyday I worked in downtown Lansing across the street from the capital so the atmosphere was awesome. 
 
What did you learn from your internship?
I learned so much during my internship. I learned how to dress in a business formal atmosphere. I learned how to write various types of things such as, press releases, pitch letters, opinion editorials, and letters to the editor. I also learned how to write and put together an entire communications plan for a client. Another thing I learned was how to attend an event and find the information I was looking for. There were a few times where I was asked to attend an event and find out certain information. Also, I learned to appreciate casual Fridays in an office setting and that water cooler conversations are a real thing.
 
About ferrisprssa

We speak the truth with compassion. We embrace diversity in all forms. We are innovative, creative, upbeat and engaged. We are the Ferris State University PRSSA Chapter! Our student-run PR firm gives students outstanding hands-on experience and professional training.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

